Not only is buckwheat not a type of wheat, it is not even technically a "grain" although in many places (including The World's Healthiest Foods book) it is referred to as a grain since it is enjoyed in a similar fashion to true grains. Buckwheat is actually a fruit seed that comes from a plant that is also called beech wheat, as well as "silverhull" and "tartary," and whose genus/species name in Latin is Fagopyrum esculentum. Buckwheat belongs to the Polygonaceae family of plants. Two other well-known members of this family are rhubarb and sorrel. Buckwheat does not contain gluten like wheat does and therefore you can truly count on it to be "wheat-free" in every respect!
Buckwheat makes a great side dish as well as the base for a cold grain salad. Combined with fresh and/dried fruit, nuts, and soymilk, it can also make an energizing breakfast.
For more information on this topic, see: